What is UNCLOS or United Nations Convention for the Law of the Sea ?

Written by Amit Sharma

UNCLOS is an acronym for the United Nations Convention for the Law of the Sea. The convention is also sometimes referred to as the Law of the Sea Convention or the Law of the Sea treaty. UNCLOS, as a law of the sea came into operation and became effective from 16th November 1982.

The Law of the Sea Convention defines the rights and responsibilities of nations with respect to their use of the world’s oceans, establishing guidelines for businesses, the environment, and the management of marine natural resources. The Convention, concluded in 1982, replaced four 1958 treaties. UNCLOS came into force in 1994, a year after Guyana became the 60th nation to sign the treaty. As of June 2016, 167 countries and the European Union have joined in the Convention. It is uncertain as to what extent the Convention codifies customary international law.

What is a Baseline?
 A baseline is a legal construct:  

A boundary line that determines where a State’s maritime sovereignty and jurisdiction begins and ends.  In fact, baselines determine all areas of maritime jurisdiction.  They create a demarcation between areas where a State has no rights and those where a State does enjoy rights. We should now note that the default baseline under UNCLOS is the normal baseline.  According to Article 5 of UNCLOS, a normal baseline is drawn at the low-water line, as stated in official charts.  Perhaps the easiest way to think of a normal baseline is as an “outline” of a State’s coast.  Waters on the landward side of a baseline are considered a State’s internal waters, treated much in the way that land would be treated.  However, in some situations, it is either impractical or uneconomical to draw a normal baseline.  In such cases, straight baselines are used in lieu of normal baselines.Maritime-Zones

The limits of maritime zones recognized under international law are officially depicted on National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) nautical charts, and several are also (unofficially) displayed in the Marine Cadastre, which is a partnership effort between NOAA and the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM). NOAA, with the consensus of the interagency U.S. Baseline Committee, develops the limits of maritime zones using standards and concepts consistent with international and U.S. law, including

About the author

Amit Sharma

Graduated from M.E.R.I. Mumbai (Mumbai University), After a brief sailing founded this website with the idea to bring the maritime education online which must be free and available for all at all times and to find basic solutions that are of extreme importance to a seafarer by our innovative ideas.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!